Portal de Caravaca de la Cruz

Caravaca de la Cruz - SpanishCaravaca de la Cruz - English
detail of Caravaca de la Cruz


The City Council of Caravaca re-launches the 'Albacara' Prize in its 45th edition with new lines of participation (30/07/2018)

The City of Caravaca de la Cruz is committed to the renovation and promotion of the Literary Competition `Premio Albacara '.

The Department of Culture establishes for its call for 2018 new lines of participation, increasing the number and amount of awards.

Thus, the basis of the new call-in addition to the traditional prize of children and youth, which is called from now on "Prize School of Mandarines'-, also includes the` National Award of Narrative City of the Cross' and the `San Juan de la Cruz National Mystic Poetry Award '.

The aim is to achieve a greater reach among writers of all ages and strengthen the link of this contest with the figure of San Juan de la Cruz, master of poetry and mystic poet par excellence, closely linked to the history of Caravaca de la Cruz For the convocation of this new edition, the Department of Culture of the Caravaqueño Consistory has the collaboration of the local community of the Discalced Carmelite Fathers, the publishing house 'Gollarín' and the group Postres Reina.

"The characteristics of the literary contest` Premio Albacara 'deserve, in our opinion, a determined attention in favor of its novation, so, coinciding with the 45th anniversary of its creation, we have opted for its relaunching and for reinforcing its connection with the figure of San Juan de la Cruz, with new incentives that stimulate national participation, as well as assess the international commitment for future calls ", as pointed out by the Councilor for Culture, Óscar Martínez.

The 'Albacara Prize' maintains, as in previous years, the categories of children and young people in the modalities of narrative and poetry, through the `Prize School of Mandarines', which pays homage to the writer from Caravaca Miguel Espinosa.

All the young people of the Region of Murcia, who study between 1 st of ESO and 2 nd of Baccalaureate, both courses inclusive, or have ages between 12 and 18 years old will be able to participate.

The bases of the contest introduce the `National Prize of Narrative City of the Cross', for literary works of thematic related to the municipality of Caravaca de la Cruz and its surroundings in the different cultural, traditional, religious, historical, festive, costumbrista, human beings, etc., honoring the writer from Caravaca Gregorio Javier.

A single prize of 1,500 euros is established.

In this edition of 2018, the jury will be chaired by the writer from Caravaca Luis Leante and composed of a cast of people related to literature and literary creation.

The second great novelty of the contest is the `San Juan de la Cruz National Mystical Poetry Prize ', aimed at people over 18, with the mystical theme as the main axis of the work.

A single prize of 3,500 euros is established.

The jury will be chaired this year by the poet and literary critic Luis Bagué Quílez and also integrated by people related to literature and literary creation.

The deadline for submission of works, for all cases, will be open until November 14 and, continuing with the tradition of this award, the awards ceremony will be held on December 14 this year, coinciding with the day of San Juan de la Cruz, patron of the poets in the Spanish language.

`Award Albacara '

The Albacara Prize was created in the city of Caravaca de la Cruz in 1972, under the auspices of the figure of San Juan de la Cruz, in order to promote literary creation among adolescents and young people.

Since then, there have been many people who, having debuted in this contest, are credited today as recognized writers and poets in the regional, national and even international.

The prize was born in 1972 within the Edith Stein Club of the Discalced Carmelite Fathers of the city.

In 1980, the organization went to the City of Caravaca de la Cruz, continuing to the present time with the aim of encouraging and encouraging narrative practice and reward new values ​​in this field.

At least in the first 17 editions, the literary contest had a national character.

The 'Albacara', now expanded to poets and writers of all ages, is one of the oldest literary awards in Spain within its category of young talents.

Source: Ayuntamiento de Caravaca de la Cruz

UNE-EN ISO 9001:2000 - ER-0131/2006 © 2018 Alamo Networks S.L. - C/Alamo 8, 30850 Totana (Murcia) Privacy policy - Legal notice Región de Murcia
Este sitio web utiliza cookies para facilitar y mejorar la navegación. Si continúas navegando, consideramos que aceptas su uso. Más información